From Fashion to Tech

Cori b
2 min readMar 23, 2021

--

How did I get here? I began my career as most of us in college do, working retail to get-by. After a couple of years in the field, I decided to take on the challenge of working my way to the corporate office. Eventually, I became a wholesale account manager for a major fashion brand. As I worked in the field, I noticed there was a lack of innovation, as far as technological advances. The accounts I visited used technology, such as registers and employee management resources that were outdated.(Some dating back to the 80’s)

As I became frustrated with the limited functionalities, I began to ponder on what I could do to change this?

What if I had the power to solve these issues? I began to research options starting with basic questions such as “How to build an app?”or “How do engineers manage databases with millions of product/customer information?”. The thought of being able to build something so powerful that many people use everyday excited me.

“Code is like an art gallery millions of people view everyday.”

Fast-forward 5 weeks into my bootcamp experience and I have learned SO MUCH. I have discovered my passion for programming and problem-solving. As I continue my journey in the second phase of the engineering track at Flatiron, I am learning how technology is changing the world. It can be a multidimensional tool used to do amazing things in health, in our communities and even the world. It could be used to help transform the daily life of others in third world countries, track and so much more. I look forward to a lifetime of learning and continuously developing my skills as an engineer and I find comfort in the fact that I am right where I am supposed to be.

If you are interested in free learning resources that have helped me understand basic coding concepts. Look no further I’ve listed a couple of websites below:

FreeCodeCamp.com

CodeAcademy.com

Udemy.com

Skillscrush.com

Sololearn (Mobile App)

--

--